01. What is Indian Premier League (IPL)?

Ans. Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 Cricket League in India. 

02. When is it held every year?

Ans. It is held during March or April and May every year. 

03. How many teams play in this league?

Ans. 8 teams representing eight different cities in India play in this league. 

04. Who founded the league?

Ans. The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Mr. Lalit Modi is regarded as the brainchild of the league.  He was the founder and former commissioner of the league. 

05. In which year IPL was started?

Ans. IPL was started in 2008. 

06. Which is the first sporting event in the world broadcasted live on YouTube?

Ans. In 2010 IPL became the first sporting event in the world broadcasted live on YouTube. 

07. Who has won the first IPL?

Ans. Rajasthan Royals won the first ever IPL Trophy. In the final Rajasthan Royals ousted the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by three wickets. Shane Warne, Captain lifted the first ever IPL Trophy. 

08. Which team won most IPL Cup?

Ans. Mumbai Indians and current champion Chennai Super Kings are the most successful teams.  They have won three titles each. 

09. Which are the other teams who won IPL Trophy upto 2018?

Ans. The other winners are :
Sun Risers Hyderabad
Kolkata Knight Riders
Rajasthan Royals
Deccan Chargers (This team does not exist now). 

10. What is one of the most important financial implications in IPL 2018 (IPL season 11)?

Ans. The most important financial implication is that Star Sports purchased the media rights at Rs. 16,347 crore ($2.55 billion) for five years starting from 2018. 

11. Some highlights of IPL 2018 :

  • Chennai Super Kings became the champion in 2018 IPL Season 11 by beating SRH (Sun Risers Hyderabad).
  • CSK beat SRH by 8 wickets.
  • The final was played in Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. 

12. Highlights of IPL 2018 related to players :

  • Kane Williamson won the Orange Cap with 735 runs from 17 matches.
  • Andrew Tye won the Purple Cap with 24 wickets from 14 matches.
  • Sunil Naraine became the MVP (Most Valuable Player) as he scored 357 runs and 17 wickets from 16 matches. 

13. Highlights of IPL 2018 related to players :

  • Stylist player of the season – Risabh Pant
  • Super Striker of the season – Sunil Naraine
  • Perfect catch of the season – Trent Boult
  • IPL Fairplay Award – Mumbai Indians
  • Risabh Pant was awarded emerging player of the season. He scored 684 runs from 14 matches with a highest unbeaten 128 against Delhi Daredevils.
  • Shane Watson was the man of the match of the final. He scored the highest individual score in an IPL final.

Collected by….
Ratikanta Singh
(The next quiz will come soon)…