2019 Vivo Indian Premier League

Dates : 23.03.2019 to 12.05.2019

Administrators : Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)

Cricket Format : Twenty20

Host : India

Participants : 8

Matches to be played : 60

Official Website : www.ipl20.com

2019 Vivo Indian Premier League is also known as IPL12 as this is the 12th season of the IPL.  This is a professional Twenty20 Cricket League established by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007.

On 8th January 2019, the BCCI confirmed that the Tournament will start on 23.03.2019 and take place entirely in India.

The schedule of IPL 2019 has been released in parts by the BCCI in view of the coming Lok Sabha Polls that would be a staggered process in 7 phases stretched across April and May.  But now it is clear that the final of IPL will be played on 12th May 2019 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.


  • Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh and Glenn Maxwell were the prominent names among the players being released.
  • Jaydev Unadkat became the costliest player Rs. 8.4 crores in 2018 auction, and he was also released.
  • Auction was held on 18th December 2018 at Jaipur.
  • Uncapped Varun Chakravorty became one of the richest players with Rs. 8.4 crores.
  • Sam Curran was the most expensive foreign player at Rs. 7.2 crores.
  • Prominent players like Cheteshwar Pujara, Brendon Mc.Cullum, Mushtiqur Rahim and Alex Hales remained unsold.
  • A hooping Rs. 106.80 crores was spent to buy 60 players in the 2019 IPL Players’ Auction.
  • Kings XI Punjab spent 32.50 crores to buy a maximum number of 13 players.


IPL has become a great Brand.  Let us enjoy the great matches starting from 23.03.2019.  I will be highlighting some of the facts of IPL in my site.  Let us together enjoy IPL 2019…..

…..Ratikanta Singh.